DIY Dry Shampoo

Dry shampoo is an amazing invention! I’m not sure who came up with the idea but it works great, makes your hair look gorgeous and gives it so much volume! What’s not to love?

It’s great to use for days when you don’t wash your hair because it refreshes your look, makes your hair smell awesome, and takes away any access oil from your scalp and hair. You can also just sprinkle in some if you’re looking to add a little more volume to your hair.

For years I used to just use baby powder as a dry shampoo because I couldn’t find any dry shampoo I liked or didn’t leave a residue in my hair. I came across this recipe on Youtube and was super intrigued because I didn’t know you could make your own dry shampoo. I ended up trying the recipe and was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked and how good it smelled! I was so pleased with the recipe I even made some as gifts for my friends and family.

Here’s the video I found:

Here’s the recipe:

(It makes a large batch, I had enough to fill six salt shakers)

In a large bowl mix together:

  • 1 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 1/2 cup Cocoa powder (for brunettes, you can add more or less depending on how dark your hair is)
  • 1 Tablespoon baking soda
  • 15-20 drops Peppermint Essential Oil (Can purchase at any health food store such as Wegmans)

How to use:

  1. Shake into hair (where desired)
  2. Let sit for a few minutes
  3.  Brush out hair

DSC_0146 copy

This is a picture of how mine looked when it was all finished. Since I gave a bunch away as gifts I put them in these salt shakers with lids (from target) and printed out labels, glittered them and taped the labels on.

The ingredients are all pretty cheap and can be found in pretty much any grocery store plus it’ll last you a long time so it’s very cost effective. Also it smells wonderful! The cocoa powder and mint give it a lovely smell that refreshes your hair nicely plus the mint promotes hair growth!

I’ve been using this for about a month now and it works better than anything I’ve tried in the past. It smells so much better than other products, its all natural and it makes great gifts! 🙂

One thought on “DIY Dry Shampoo

  1. I loved this so much that I took it with me to Paris. It was so hot there and my hair gets oily especially if it is hot. This make my hair look like it was just washed and LOVE the Smell of Chocolate Mint!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

